Below is the Texas state statute which controls the amount of money that doctors, hospitals, and other health care providers can charge for copies of medical records provided to the patient or the patient’s attorney for use in personal injury or wrongful death civil cases. Note that there may be other statutes which pertain to workers’ compensation claims, Social Security disability matters, etc.
We update this page when we learn of a new statute or any revision to the statutes. Despite our best efforts we cannot and do not represent that this statute is up-to-date. One type of revision which is especially hard for us to keep track of has to do with cost changes allowed annually by a statute and based on some indexed inflation rate.
We suggest that you read the actual state statute (as opposed to relying upon our brief summary) when there is a link available.
Texas Health and Safety Code §241.154 (Hospitals)
- A basic retrieval or processing fee not to exceed $45.74 for first 10 pages of records; then,
$1.54 per page for pages 11-60
- $0.76 per page for pages 61-400
- $0.41 per page for any remaining pages
- Plus actual cost of mailing or shipping
If the requested records are stored on any microform or other electronic medium, a retrieval or processing fee, which must include the fee for providing the first 10 pages of the copies and which may not exceed $69.67, and:
- $1.54 per page thereafter
- Actual cost of mailing, shipping, or otherwise delivering the provided copies
If the requested records are provided on a digital or other electronic medium and the requesting party requests delivery in a digital or electronic medium, including electronic mail:
- a retrieval or processing fee, which may not exceed $82.87; and
- the actual cost of mailing, shipping, or otherwise delivering the provided copies.
Title 22 Part 9 Chapter 165 Rule 165.2 (Doctors)
No more than $25.00 for the first 20 pages; then,
- $0.50 per page for every copy thereafter
- In addition, actual cost of mailing or shipping
- Also, a reasonable fee not to exceed $15.00 for executing affidavit.
- $25.00 for 500 pages or less
- $50 for more than 500 pages
- Maximum charge for x-rays and diagnostic imaging studies $8.00 per copy
- Plus actual costs for mailing, shipping, or delivery
If you are aware of an additional or different medical records copying costs statute which should be posted for this state, please send a link to the relevant statute to Tom Lamb.
Likewise, any clarifications, corrections, or updates regarding the statute shown for this state should be submitted to Tom Lamb.
Please understand that the materials on this web page are for general information purposes only, and is not intended as legal advice.